Blog Search

Gray area foods: What about dark chocolate, red wine, etc.?

By: 0

In this video we talk about gray-area foods. What are gray-area foods? They are foods where:

-There is published peer-reviewed research to show that (most but not all) of the followings things can be healthy
-However there is also peer-reviewed research to show that these very same foods can be unhealthy as well, especially for certain individuals.

Which foods are the gray-area foods?
-Gluten free grains (rice, non-GMO corn, gf oats)
-Grass Fed, Full Fat, Dairy from a Local Family Farm
-Beans, Peas, and Lentils
-Dark Chocolate and Red Wine
-Natural Sweetners (honey, maple syrup, molasses, stevia, etc.)

Should you eat these things or avoid them? In general
-They should NOT form the vast majority of what you eat
-You should try eliminating them all for 30 days and then reintroducing them to see if you tolerate them
-Once you reintroduce them it’s up to you to determine if the symptoms you experience when eating these foods (if any) are worth eating the food.

Lastly, keep in mind that whether you tolerate or don’t tolerate these foods is a very individual thing. It’s not the same for everyone. That’s precisely why they are gray-area foods because they’re neither a clear green light in terms of having them or a clear red light in terms of avoiding them.

Comments: 0

Write a Reply or Comment

Your email address will not be published.